Delaware roads have claimed 139 lives and injured more than 9,657 over the past three years in crashes involving aggressive driving. In fact, about 42% of all fatal car accidents in Delaware for the year 2010 were caused by aggressive driving with more than 1/3 were due to the failure of driver to grant the right of way.
It was in 1998 that Delaware passed an aggressive driving law that defines this type of driving as a combination of three or more specific illegal actions from one continuous incident. There are specific acts that can be considered under the charge of aggressive driving: (1) not following a traffic control device; (2) passing at the right; (3) not driving within the traffic lane; (4) tail driving; (5) failure to yield; (6) improper entrance to the roadway; (7) not using turn signals; (8) failure to stop or yield at a sign; (9) overtaking and passing a stopped school bus; and (10) speeding.
Anyone given a citation for aggressive driving is subject to stiffer penalties. These is a fine from $100 to $300, an imprisonment for 10 to 30 days, or both fine and imprisonment even for a first offense. For another offense than occur within three years of the previous, the sanctions include a fine from $300-$1,000, imprisonment for 30 to 60 days, or both, plus 30-day suspension of driving privileges. There are no suspensions of sentences.
Violators have more obligations to face; they must pass an approved course that addressed behavior modification or attitudinal driving. Fee for the course is $100 an evidence of completing the course must be presented by the violator within a period of 90 days. Failure to finish the course results to a 30-day license suspension.
Under the Delaware law, an operator will be facing a charge of aggressive driving violation for any three of the following traffic offenses in one incident: (1) speeding; (2) not yielding the right of way; (3) changing lanes; (4) passing on the shoulder of the road; (5) ignoring a traffic control device; (6) following too closely a vehicle ahead; and (7) and passing a stopped school bus
Aggressive driving penalties are stiff as it includes fines and jail time, as well as mandatory attendance and completion of either a behavior modification class or attitudinal driving course. If offense is repeated, license will be suspended.
To be safe, stay away when you encounter aggressive drivers on the road. Keep a distance as quickly as you can. When an aggressive driver provokes you, remain calm and continue driving carefully. Keep your seat belt buckled as a protection in case you have to brake or turn abruptly. As soon as it is safe enough, call the police and report the aggressive driver.
Source: CGA CT Gov
Source: GHSA Org