A man was Georgetown was arrested by Delaware State Police after they found that this was his driving drunk arrest for the 7th time. That was the number of times he was caught driving under the influence. He was not mindful of all the previous arrests and fines he paid.

It happened again last night when a trooper viewed a Dodge red Dakota traveling south along the left turn lane of North DuPont  Blvd. He saw that the car was running a red light and hurriedly turning onto North Bedford St.

The trooper asked the pick-up truck to pull over and smelled a strong odor of alcohol on the driver. Darren McGrath, age 59, resident of Georgetown, and  he was now under a DUI investigation.

Trooper 4 took McGrath back to police station in Georgetown where he was arrested for DUI. When police made a computer check, they found that the man had six other previous DUI convictions.

The driver was also filed other charges as (1) driving even though his licensed has been suspended & revoked; and (2) not stopping and running a red light. After being arraigned, he was confined in jail in lieu of a $10,600.00 cash bond. With all these charges, may McGrath will never commit the 8th DUI.

Pennsylvania’s law on DUI has been made stiffer including both penalties and fines. This kind of traffic infraction is very common which is the common charge of a first-time offenders, Majority of convicted are of DUI and for last year, this accounted to around 1,659 individuals. Around the states, about 109 people in the county were convicted of DUI at least four or more times. It was highest with 146 in 2007.

Over a period of five years, the number of individuals that earned four or more convictions has generally decreased each year.

In 2004, Pennsylvania transformed DUI law to discouraged DUI drivers. The imposed stiffer fines and longer jail sentences. The purpose was to hit repeated offenders the hardest to discourage people to avoid getting above the BAC levels

Pa has the three-tiered penalty system that places drivers into categories depending upon how much alcohol has been consumed and a mandatory minimum sentence is imposed. After a 2nd DUI conviction, the mandatory minimum jail sentence is 90 days; for those with three or more convictions, it is one year. The same jail sentence is also applicable to defendants: (1) whose DUI are drug-related, (2) whose BAC are higher than 0.16; or (3) who refuse blood tests.

Bucks County Deputy District Attorney, Robert James, who oversees DUI prosecutions, stated that the five-year maximum jail sentence for DUI is almost never imposed for it is only applicable to those offenses rated as first-degree misdemeanors.

Accident victims have rights. If you were injured in a car accident, contact experienced Delaware DUI Lawyer now for free consultation. He will protect the rights of you and your loved ones. You may be entitled to financial compensation for economic damages, as well as pain and suffering.

Source: My Fox Philly Com

( http://www.myfoxphilly.com/story/23104015/de-man-busted-for-7th-dui)

Source: Philly Burbs Com

( http://www.phillyburbs.com/my_town/quakertown/pennsylvania-among-few-states-where-duis-never-rise-to-felony/article_9f5b108e-6393-5cfa-b441-c7cd1d52e612.html)





captcha

LATEST STORIES

  • 2
    Dec

    The objectives of Delco’s Driver Improvement Problem Driver Program are manifold: (1) to identify driver’s problems; (2) to change the problematic driver’s behavior by giving information and opportunities for training; (3) if needed be, to impose continuous sanctions after more accumulation of convictions/points on driving record of the individual. Governed by Division Policy Regulation #45, the goal of the program is to prevent crash . There are steps in the program geared to the gravity of the driving record that maybe the cause of an advisory letter, a mandated suspension, and/or taking a driving course on modification of attitude and behavior. Added is a reinstatement fee of $25.00 to be paid at the Division of Motor Vehicles for reinstatement of license. The point system of Delco: speeding violation of 1-9 MPH over posted limit  = 2 points; speeding violation of 10-14 MPH = 4 points; speeding violation of 15 – 19 MPH = 5 points ; speeding 20 MPH = 5 points + other actions including suspension. Point system for: passing a school bus that stopped = 6 points; reckless driving = 6 points; aggressive driving = 6 points; disregarding red light or stop sign = 3 points and other moving violations = 2 points. For the first 12 months from the date of violation, calculated points are credited at full point value. After the initial expiration of initial 12 months, the calculated points will get a half-point value for the next 12 months. All rates are determined by the based upon entire calculated […]

  • 1
    Dec

    Secane Pa. – A 2nd charge of DUI homicide is filed versus a woman from Delaware County who repeated acts of creating havoc while driving her vehicle. Authorities reported that this week, Nichole Labelle, age 24 and resident of Secane is facing her second DUI crash in less than two years. Police Superintendent Michael Chitwood of the Upper Darby reported that the woman was unsteady; her clothes were in disarray and wearing only one shoe when they apprehended her. Labelle in her latest crash hit a car and she told Chitwood that she was driving her vehicle when she hit another vehicle. The officer said just last year, Labelle was DUI when she slammed her car and killed her passenger identified as George Kaminski, age 21. During her last crash, Labelle was out on bail. It is in the news that a awaiting trial on charges of killing a young man while driving impaired in Philadelphia two years ago was again arrested in Upper Darby last Tuesday night for crashing her car while high on heroin and prescription pills. Labelle rammed her vehicle into a parked car that was unoccupied along Westbrook Dr. in the vicinity of Alverstone Rd. at about 8:45 o’clock Tuesday evening. When police reached the scene, they saw that had only one shoe on and was speaking in a slurred manner. She told Chitwood that she got distracted and crashed her car. When police questioned her further, she told officers she had shot up heroin and took doses of Adderall […]

  • 1
    Dec

    Experts of traffic safety pronounced three classifications for distractions: it maybe manual, visual and cognitive. Manual distractions happen when you are moving your hands away from the wheel and the task of controlling the vehicle. For example: reaching for a falling personal object. Visual distractions take place when you turn your eyes away from the road. For example, when you are looking at a road map to ascertain where you are going. A cognitive distraction is the wandering away of your mind instead of paying attention to the road. For example, thinking of your date tonight. Some facts about distractive driving are quite alarming. Studies showed that drivers within the 20-24 year group caused crashes related to cell phone use; the 25-29 year olds follow and those 19 and under follow very closely. It appears that 55% are crashed committed by males while 45% are the females. Friday crashes due to distracted driving are higher compared with any other days. Delaware is among the states with the toughest imposition of laws on distracted driving for Delco wants to alleviate traffic safety. They are strongly enforcing cell phone bans as using a mobile while behind the wheel has been considered as top driving distraction. Just consider lots of car mishaps on roads across America due to use of mobiles while behind the wheel. Here is a list of prohibitions imposed by the state of Delaware to drivers especially more impositions to newbie and bus drivers. In the state of Delco, no […]

  • 1
    Dec

    Delaware roads have claimed 139 lives and injured more than 9,657 over the past three years in crashes involving aggressive driving. In fact, about 42% of all fatal car accidents in Delaware for the year 2010 were caused by aggressive driving with more than 1/3 were due to the failure of driver to grant the right of way. It was in 1998 that Delaware passed an aggressive driving law that defines this type of driving as a combination of three or more specific illegal actions from one continuous incident. There are specific acts that can be considered under the charge of aggressive driving: (1) not following a traffic control device; (2) passing at the right; (3) not driving within the traffic lane; (4) tail driving; (5) failure to yield; (6) improper entrance to the roadway; (7) not using turn signals; (8) failure to stop or yield at a sign; (9) overtaking and passing a stopped school bus; and (10) speeding . Anyone given a citation for aggressive driving is subject to stiffer penalties. These is a fine from $100 to $300, an imprisonment for 10 to 30 days, or both fine and imprisonment even for a first offense. For another offense than occur within three years of the previous, the sanctions include a fine from $300-$1,000, imprisonment for 30 to 60 days, or both, plus 30-day suspension of driving privileges. There are no suspensions of sentences. Violators have more obligations to face; they must pass an approved course that addressed behavior modification or […]


View Larger Map