For violating a traffic law, a driver or motorist is presented a traffic ticket by a police officer. There are two forms of traffic tickets issued: (1) due to a moving vehicle violation, as a motorcycle going above the speed limit and (2) due to a non-moving vehicle violation, as illegal parking.
When a traffic ticket is issued in Delaware, you will be experiencing frustration due to the inconvenience of paying the ticket and other annoyances. You have to be proactive as you are putting your driving privileges at risk. Upon receipt of the ticket and it is offered as voluntary assessment, you have two options:
1. Dig in your pocket and pay the ticket as voluntary assessment where you do not need to appear in court; or
2. State a plea of not guilty and prepare for a day in court.
If the ticket does not offer a voluntary assessment, you are required to go to court according to the schedule indicated at the back of the ticket.
A voluntary assessment can be settled in many ways. You can pay the amount by fax; pay personally or through phone or online. The ticket confirms the total amount you have to pay in US dollars within a period of 30 days (or a month) after you received the ticket. If you are unable to settle the total amount, you call the Center for Voluntary Assessment to help you. In most cases, tickets, as well as payments are posted to the Voluntary Assessment Center Justice of the Peace Court. But it would be advisable to look at the face of your ticket for information as to the address to mail your payment or which court you are assigned.
Ticket fines are variable in Delaware County depending on the type of violation committed and the court hearing assigned to the case. DEL traffic tickets list down violations and fines; but if your ticket does not have the list, you can always ask from the court.
No DUI surcharges vary as the following fines remain the same: for driving DUI with a BAC of 08% or higher than the allowable %: for 1st offence from $230 to $1,150; while subsequent offenses are charged higher from $575 to $2,300.But additional penalties are: revocation of license and imprisonment.
The fine for a red light violation is $112.50, but if fees are paid late, additional amount will be added. Fees for suspension or revocation of driver’s license due to any violation: Suspension – $25; and Revocation is $143.75.
If your plea is not guilty, you can contest the ticket during the hearing. Be prepared for your day in court by hiring a lawyer to represent your case. Be sure to participate in probation prior to a Judgment program. If you win the battle, no points will be added to your record and no penalty will be given. If you are found guilty, you have to pay the penalty plus all expenses spent for the hearing. However, you can always file for an appeal.
A traffic ticket or citation must be taken seriously as it places your right to drive at stake.
If you have received a traffic ticket for bike safety in Delaware, please contact an experienced traffic ticket lawyer. Protect your right to drive legally
Source: DMV Org