The State of Delaware, like every other state in the country, operates a points system which is used to curb problem drivers and regulate the use of driver licenses. Every state has a different points system, so if you are unfamiliar with Delaware’s, you should study the table provided by the Division of Motor Vehicles, especially if you have just got a traffic violation ticket.
Out of State Licenses
Delaware is only a very small state and the chances are that you are an out of state driver when you get a ticket. Note that Delaware points do not automatically transfer over to your out of state license, although your own state will be notified of the violations. That doesn’t mean you will be exempt from any other penalties, such as fines, of course.
Points in Delaware Depreciate with Time
Delaware has a slightly unusual points system in that the points you get for something like speeding (2 to 5) or failure to yield the right of way (4) will depreciate with time. The longer the period from the time you received the ticket, the less the points become. After two years, the points disappear altogether. For example, imagine you were caught traveling at 44 mph in a 30 mph zone. You are 14 mph over, so get 4 points on your Delaware license. After 1 year, these 4 points reduce to 2 points, and after 2 years the points for this particular offense are cancelled completely
License Suspension Process in Delaware
If you have accumulated 12 points on your license in Delaware, your license will be suspended for at least 2 months. The license suspension is dependent on you completing a driver modification course. If you don’t complete the course, then you will get a suspension. If you have accumulated 14 or more points, then a 4 month suspension is mandatory and you will still need to complete a driver modification course to get the license reinstated. Even more points simply increases the suspension time. The DMV will send you a warning letter when your points reach 8 to remind you.
Credit for Defensive Driving Course
Delaware has another unusual way in which it calculates license points. You can get 3 points credited to your license if you voluntarily go on a defensive driver course. This means that if you start off with a clean license, and then get handed a ticket for a red light violation and you have already done a defensive driver course, the credit for this (3 points) will cancel out the points for the ticket.
Points for Speedin
Points for speeding vary from 2 if you were up to 10mph over the limit to 5 if you were dong more than 20 over. However, if this is your first offense in any three year period, then you will not gain any points if you were only 14 mph or less over the limit. The offense will still be recorded and you will also be fined. If you are 25 mph or more over, you will face an automatic license suspension as well as the 5 points on your license.
Delaware allows a discretionary hardship license if your license has been suspended. This will be given to you to allow you to work or go to college only, if that is necessary. It is also dependent on you completing a driver modification course.